june, 2019

29jun(jun 29)7:30 pm20jul(jul 20)9:00 pmCity of GoldQueensland Theatre

Event Details

Presented by Queensland Theatre
Theatre Performance

“A battle cry from the front line of Australian identity.”

Rising star Meyne Wyatt’s debut play is as riveting and unflinchingly honest as his stage presence. Urgent, wryly funny and politically incendiary, ‘City of Gold’ is a call for change that will sound out for some years to come.

All Breythe ever wanted was to be an actor, but this isn’t how he imagined his first big television gig – as a young Aboriginal man, being the face of a disastrous misfire of an advertisement that will get him roasted by his mob. When a messenger bird suddenly brings Breythe tragic tidings from his family, it spurts him on a journey of grief and duty. Returning home to Kalgoorlie, he is thrust headlong into family conflict and the reality of what it means to be an Indigenous youth in today’s Australia.

Performance Times: 

  • Saturday, 29 June 2019 @ 7:30 PM
  • Monday, 1 July 2019 @ 6:30 PM
  • Tuesday, 2 July 2019 @ 6:30 PM
  • Wednesday, 3 July 2019 @ 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, 4 July 2019 @ 7:30 PM
  • Friday, 5 July 2019 @ 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, 6 July 2019 @ 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, 6 July 2019 @ 7:30 PM
  • Monday, 8 July 2019 @ 6:30 PM  *Auslan Interpreted
  • Tuesday, 9 July 2019 @ 6:30 PM
  • Wednesday, 10 July 2019 @ 1:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 10 July 2019 @ 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, 11 July 2019 @ 7:30 PM
  • Friday, 12 July 2019 @ 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, 13 July 2019 @ 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, 13 July 2019 @ 7:30 PM
  • Monday, 15 July 2019 @ 6:30 PM
  • Tuesday, 16 July 2019 @ 6:30 PM
  • Wednesday, 17 July 2019 @ 7:30 PM
  • Thursday, 18 July 2019 @ 7:30 PM  *Audio Described
  • Friday, 19 July 2019 @ 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, 20 July 2019 @ 2:00 PM  *Audio Described
  • Saturday, 20 July 2019 @ 7:30 PM

Location: 

Queensland Theatre
78 Montague Road, South Brisbane QLD 4101

Tickets: 

$77.00 Adult
$73.00 Senior
$67.00 Concession
$35.00 Youth (35 & Under)

Tickets available from Queensland Theatre.

City of Gold - Queensland Theatre

Time

June 29 (Saturday) 7:30 pm - July 20 (Saturday) 9:00 pm AEST

Location

Queensland Theatre

78 Montague Road

Organizer

Queensland TheatreTicketing: 1800 355 528; Phone: 07 3010 7600; Email: mail@queenslandtheatre.com.au 78 Montague Road, South Brisbane QLD 4101

Leave a Comment

X