february, 2020

08feb(feb 8)7:30 pm29(feb 29)7:30 pmEmerald CityQueensland Theatre

Event Details

Presented by Queensland Theatre and Melbourne Theatre Company
Theatre Performance

‘Emerald City’ is a sparkling revival of David Williamson’s finest comedy!

Fade in. Sydney in the 1980s. The Emerald City of Oz, luring unsuspecting idealists with the promise of fulfilled fantasies, and leaving them with their dreams shattered on the pavement.

Colin is a one-time gun screenwriter who’s off his game these days, and his wife Kate is a publisher with a penchant for taking risks. Seduced by the scent of success, they move their family to the ‘Emerald City’ in pursuit of a share of its fame and fortune.

Colin teams with a hack writer to work on his pet project screenplay, but soon finds himself faced with a stark choice: make art or make a motza? Decades after it was written, David Williamson’s 1987 classic is as sharp as ever; a satirical skewering of the extravagance of yesterday that could have been written today.

Performance Times: 

  • Saturday, 8 February 2020 @ 7:30 PM
  • Wednesday, 12 February 2020 @ 7:30 PM
  • Friday, 14 February 2020 @ 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, 15 February 2020 @ 2:00 PM and 7:30 PM
  • Monday, 17 February 2020 @ 6:30 PM *Auslan Interpreted Performance
  • Tuesday, 18 February 2020 @ 6:30 PM
  • Wednesday, 19 February 2020 @ 1:00 PM and 7:30 PM
  • Thursday,  20 February 2020 @ 7:30 PM
  • Friday, 21 February 2020 @ 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, 22 February 2020 @ 2:00 PM and 7:30 PM
  • Monday, 24 February 2020 @ 6:30 PM
  • Tuesday, 25 February 2020 @ 6:30 PM
  • Wednesday, 26 February 2020 @ 1:00 PM and 7:30 PM
  • Thursday,  27 February 2020 @ 7:30 PM
  • Friday, 28 February 2020 @ 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, 29 February 2020 @ 2:00 PM and 7:30 PM *Audio Described at 2:00 PM Performance

Location: 

Playhouse – Queensland Performing Arts Centre (QPAC)
Cnr Grey and Melbourne St, South Brisbane QLD 4101

Tickets: 

Ranging $61.00 – $92.00
Discounts available for Concession, Seniors, Youth, Groups and Schools.
A transaction fee of $7.20 applies per transaction. 

Tickets available at QPAC – Emerald City

Emerald City - Queensland Theatre

 

Time

8 (Saturday) 7:30 pm - 29 (Saturday) 7:30 pm AEST

Location

Queensland Performing Arts Centre (QPAC)

Corner Grey and Melbourne Street

Organizer

Queensland TheatreTicketing: 1800 355 528; Phone: 07 3010 7600; Email: mail@queenslandtheatre.com.au 78 Montague Road, South Brisbane QLD 4101

Leave a Comment

X